Lorne Guides Centre, Cultra
New Guides Facility
Lorne House sits in a 21 acre maturely wooded estate, situated on a stunning elevated site overlooking Belfast Lough. Built in 1875, this distinctive house was owned by Henry Campbell, a prominent linen merchant who named it after Lorne on the west coast of Scotland – the hereditary home of the Campbell Clan. It is built from yellow brick in the Scottish baronial style. The Guide Association first purchased Lorne in 1946 for their training centre and headquarters. It has now been upgraded and modernised to meet the needs of Guiding in the 21st Century. The project was a convert the original stable block into two-storey accommodation for overnight visitors, providing both single and twin ensuite units – now known as the Coach Hose. Kitchen facilities were extended, and with the amalgamation of all Guiding activities now centred at Lorne, a new equipment store and shop complete the complex. Internally, the house has been completely redecorated and refurbished to high standards. The introduction of a lift and a stair lift make the building fully accessible to all.